A monster a day….keeps the creative slumps at bay

I recently read an article from smashingmagazine.com, which encouraged designers to actually design something everyday (what a concept!). It seems simple enough, except that without a given project or an idea already in mind, it can be daunting to come up with a design idea every single day and actually find the time to carry it out. However, just as writers often need to write themselves out of writer’s block, designers sometimes need to just force themselves to create…anything, just to get themselves out of a slump.

One idea that I loved from the article was The Daily Monster Website. Graphic designer and illustrator, Stefan Bucher filmed himself drawing and animating a new monster every day and uploaded all of his creations online. He says in the article, that when you make the commitment to put something out there everyday, you spend more time doing rather than doubting.

I made a promise to myself, earlier this year, to practice using the dreaded Pen Tool in Adobe Illustrator, until I become a pro. Well the summer is finally coming to an end, and in all this time, I’ve spent a total of no hours working with Illustrator. “The Daily Monster Challenge” might be just the excuse I need to actually play with my poor, neglected creative suites programs and pull myself out of creative stagnation.

I got a little ahead of myself and made my first 3 monsters today. I drew inspiration for these from images I found online (actually the green cyclopes was inspired by a painting I saw by a local street vendor), but I did create these graphics myself in Illustrator with…drumroll please….THE PEN TOOL!

I’m pretty giddy about the way they turned out. Hopefully, there will be many more to come, although I have a pretty short attention span when it comes to design, so I may switch to some other form of daily creations.

Cheers!

Dani

monster2 monster3 monster

Leave a Reply

