Vitacura, Chile: My new home

 

Mi dormitorio for the next 10 weeks
Mi dormitorio for the next 10 weeks

Today I met my Chilean family, the people I will live with for the next 10 weeks. I already like them better than my American family (half kidding).

The mother, Christina, has been so kind and welcoming to me. She doesn’t speak any English, of course, but her daughter-in-law’s sister (they have a close extended family), Carolina, who is also living here, speaks English fluently, and apparently, so does the daughter, Gabriella, who I will meet later this evening.

Including me, there will be five women living here. I think we might have some fun!

My Chilean mother will provide all of my meals for me (including a packed lunch for me to take to work), do my laundry and clean my room (as long as I make my bed).

 

My Chilean mother bought me flowers! (And check out the goody bag with the juice box and Pringles. Score!)
My Chilean mother bought me flowers! (And check out the goody bag with the juice box and Pringles. Score!)

They treat me better than my own family! I might just stay here forever.

My Chilean mother made one request of me, that I call her if I’m going to be late coming home or if I’m not coming home at all. She says, “Chilean mothers are like mama hens who want to protect all of their chicks”.

I have to admit that living in a foreign country, where I don´t speak the language and don’t have any friends or family nearby, is a little scary, but just knowing that I have a “mama hen” looking out for me and worrying about me if I don’t come home, makes me feel a lot better!

After finishing a nice long Chilean lunch, followed by flan, coffee, some gossip about boys and a laugh at the “Pinochet fails” memes (it’s a Chilean thing, don’t worry about it), I can honestly say that, for the first time since I arrived, I really feel at home here.

One thought on “Vitacura, Chile: My new home

  1. Hey Danielle, I’m glad you feel safe there and I loved seeing your bedroom. I look forward to seeing all the new photos you’ll be posting while your there. Tell your new “Mama” thanks for me, for making you feel right at home and taking good care of you while you’re staying there. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

