Primavera: a turning point

It finally feels like spring in Santiago!

Last week I was sort of in a slump. Maybe it was the freezing cold weather, or maybe it was the fact that nearly everyone I know (that’s a small group of people) left town for the holidays. For whatever reason, I started getting really homesick (and actually, physically sick).

I started doubting myself, and questioning whether or not this internship was such a good idea.

Sure, I’ve wanted to live abroad for as long as I can remember, but the truth is, I never thought about how lonely I would be.

I normally have no problem meeting people, but the language barrier just makes it so hard.

I know that there are going to be good days and bad days, and I didn’t come here for a vacation. I came to work, to learn and to broaden my world view. I knew going in that it would be a challenge, and a challenge is what I wanted! But I think I might have been a little naive about how quickly I would adapt to a totally foreign culture.

Anyway, today felt like a turning point.

For starters, I’m finally getting to do some cool projects at work.

For example today:

  • I edited some footage and put together a short video.
  • I designed a flyer for a local event.
  • I worked with the carbon offset director to incorporate some new, dynamic features into the website (later I might meet with the programer, who has more access to the site).
  • I started working on an app design, to complement an upcoming presentation.
  • I Skyped with the new director of one of the foundations, who says that program’s web graphics, print media and communications could use some TLC (all projects I would love to adopt). She even suggested that I revamp the weekly newsletter.

For those of you who don’t know, this is my first internship. It’s the first time I’ve worked in an office, as opposed to a movie theater, restaurant or gym. And I have to say, it’s a nice little confidence booster to see how the skills I have, and the things I enjoy doing, can actually be useful and valuable to an organization.

I might have actually learned something in college!

So after a satisfying work day, I decided to walk home (since it’s finally so nice out), and I noticed something different.

The warm spring winds must have lifted the Santiago smog, so I can finally see the mountains in the horizon.

One thought on “Primavera: a turning point

Leave a Reply

